Passes & Permits
Although all the campgrounds listed are free of charge for camping, some are located at or near trailheads. There is no fee to camp in the campground; however, a Northwest Forest Pass is required for you to park your car within 1/4 mile of the trailhead.
It’s a good idea to pick up a pass before heading off in search of the perfect campsite. You can purchase a pass at any Forest Service Office. Prices are $5.00 for a one day pass or $30.00 for the whole year.
For a list of businesses that sell the pass, call 1-800-270-7504 or look
on the internet for www.naturenw.org. This pass covers all of Washington
and Oregon states.
If you are young and able-bodied but you use the outdoors a lot, or are planning a vacation, check out the Golden Eagle Passport which is a similar pass allowing use of ALL federal recreation areas for a $65 annual fee.These special “Passports” are available at any Forest Service or National Park office.
Boaters who use federal docks on Lake Chelan will be required to display a "Lake Chelan Federal Dock Site Permit." A daily permit costs $5.00 while a season pass costs $40.00. Ten docks managed by the U.S. Forest Service and five by the National Park Service will require dock site permits.
The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) requires a vehicle use permit to use their campgrounds and some of their other facilities. Hunters and fishers get a Vehicle Use Permit without additional cost, as part of their annual license purchase. Vehicle Use Permits purchased separately cost $12.00.
Annual pass: $30
(Transaction and dealer fees may apply)
Washington state parks
The Discover Pass allows you to enjoy nearly 7 million acres of Washington state-managed recreation lands – including campgrounds, parks, wildlife areas, trails, natural areas, wilderness areas and water access points.
Beginning July 1, 2011, you will need to display the Discover Pass on your vehicle when visiting state recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. The fine for not displaying the pass is $99.
The Discover Pass may be purchased (will be available for purchase prior to July 1):
And now, you are allowed to use the pass for two different vehicles instead of one as was the original pass.